The Līgo Haibun Challenge – Keeping The Balance

2548286

There are two visual prompts for the Līgo Haibun Challenge this week, and this is the photo I decided to choose for inspiration.

A couple of years ago I couldn’t even dream about standing on my partner’ s head in front of the crowd, mumbling in my mind: “You can do it!” all over again. But there I was and the possibilitities in the moment weren’ t too diverse…more like only two. Just like the probabilities. Keeping up appearances through graceful movements, with all my energy concentrated into feeling the possible trajectories up there but deep down inside… No matter how many of those endless hours, days, weeks I would have spent trying to stay on the top, making my body to listen and also predict what it might have not heard, the moment our performance started, my doubts were always there. Just like in life. Spending every single day learning to keep my balance and not to slip in the moments it mattered the most. But then…what were those moments of the great importance? When everyone was watching? Or daily routine when it was the simplest just to slip and fall? Yes, the art of not standing on somebody’ s head but trusting and relying on while feeling really secure on my own feet. I am still learning. And maybe always will be.

surprises of life
unpredictable probabilities
to find balance

The Līgo Haibun Challenge

8 thoughts on “The Līgo Haibun Challenge – Keeping The Balance

  1. I think what I really enjoyed about your haibun this week was the juxaposition between life’s balances (the thought processes) compared to the obviousness of balance with the acrobats. So very well done and the accompanying haiku, excellent!

    Like

Plato believed an opinion is the medium between knowledge and ignorance. Fancy to share yours?

