Trifecta – A Compliment

It’ s Trifecta time again and this week the challenge is a 33-333 word response to the third definition of a given word:

ASS
3. (adverb/adjective) often vulgar—often used as a postpositive intensive especially with words of derogatory implication – See more at Trifecta: Week Ninety-Seven

As his warm palm grasped mine, accompanied by the widest smile possible, I heard the words expected the least: “What an ass!”
He must have noticed my surprise turning into confusion and politely, with the heavy Bulgarian accent repeated again: “What an ass!”
Though I couldn’ t complain too much about that very specific part of my body, getting acquainted this way was rather interesting to say the least. “Should I compliment him on his body features now? Is that the way getting to know people happens here?” were the thoughts running through my mind. But all I could come up with was a quietly mumbled “Thank you…”.
Yes, I have always been open to new cultural experiences, discovering traditions of other countries but this moment trumped everything I had seen and heard before.
Imagine my surprise when some time later I asked my friend what was the guy’ s name. “He told you! Even twice!” – she looked really surprised. “Atanas!”

Picture11-1

9 thoughts on “Trifecta – A Compliment

Plato believed an opinion is the medium between knowledge and ignorance. Fancy to share yours?

