The Līgo Haibun Challenge – Eclipse Of The Heart

haibun_moon

There are two prompts for this week’ s Līgo Haibun Challenge:
“And then there are the times when the wolves are silent and the moon is howling.” ― George Carlin
or
“Perfect order is the forerunner of perfect horror.” ― Carlos Fuentes.
There’ re times when it’ s all about silence, moon and something more…

I still remember the strong scent of lilacs, like being almost caged in the sultry summer air that night. Sand, looking pitch black, still radiated afternoon heat in waves around my feet. I had walked for hours but maybe it was much less – any sense of time had disappeared and I wanted all of my senses had gone with it. I didn’ t want to see or hear, I didn’ t need to think and I tried not to feel. Squatting on the ground at the pond, I wrapped arms around knees, trying to protect myself…from what? The world seemed so usual but empty and big. Too big.

Yesterday was different. Things had happened according to the plan, they said, and we believed. I did. We weren’ t allowed to enter the room so soon after the operation but could see him through the window. With all the little tubes he looked like from another galactic and so…elusory. The tall, broad – shouldered man my grandfather was, even with the tentacles of disease trying to take over his body, still always having a smile for everyone and a place for me on his lap. One of the safest places on the earth, though my childhood was already long forgotten. But there…it felt like almost something mystical in the ward had torn away everything he use to be, leaving him only with peace. Very illusory one. We returned next morning and they assured us everything was the way it was supposed to be, that there was no need to come back before the evening. And we would have if only there wasn’ t a phone-call, the one you never expect to receive.

I nursed my grief as the night embraced everything in the dark veil. Lights went out one after another, and the town had gained its peace. The moonlight was all there was left – like the last breath, still reaching out for life. My heart was howling.

unstoppable time
tears disappear in moonlight
fragility of life

The Līgo Haibun Challenge

14 thoughts on “The Līgo Haibun Challenge – Eclipse Of The Heart

  1. Isn’t it interesting that we both wrote about grief? That we blindly follow the ‘routine’ of illness that is forced upon us? I learned (perhaps you did too) that medicine in many ways is still more of an art than a science, that there are no fixed outcomes because we are human, not robots – there are no guarantees.
    I am sorry for your loss. People touch our lives, it hurts when they are gone, but we still love, despite the pain that loving can bring.

    Like

  2. flatfroghaiku

    Duude!
    I liked how I only really felt the effect of the first paragraph once I’d starting reading and understanding what was going on in the second. That image of hugging your knees outside under the sky kind of echoes through the later chapters.
    I’d say your haiku, though related to the prose, is quite choppy and not image based. I don’t like to give negative feedback but the haibun as a whole would be much improved by a haiku that obeyed “the rules” as it were. Here’s a link to a quick definition of haiku by Michael Dylan Welch, who’s written a few good ones: https://sites.google.com/site/graceguts/essays/a-definition-of-haiku.
    Cool Beans!!!
    (ps: loving the boobs on your side bar!)

    Like

  3. Pingback: Silent Wolves | Simply Charming

  4. This is just beautiful. And it takes me back to the loss of my grandmother. At a time when they were more worried about germs of little children than letting them have closer with those they loved. The only think I was allowed to see was the window of her room pointed to me from the outside of the building.

    May you always remember the strength and kindness of those you love.

    Thank you for your visit and kind words.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Paula! There’ re sometimes those pitch black summer nights when I like to test what captures of the moon I can come up with. Half moon has a bit more character, I think…when the second half is left for imagination 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Plato believed an opinion is the medium between knowledge and ignorance. Fancy to share yours?

