Short and Simple – LĪGO!

ligovakars_jani

For the past 8 years for different reasons I am spending my summers away from home – in Bulgaria. It is a beautiful country with as beautiful people but there still is one particular date when I feel the sweet sting of longing for home inside me…somewhere in the region where heart is (or is supposed to be). It is the night from the 23rd to the 24th of June when Latvians celebrate Summer Solstice – the Līgo (Sway) Eve.

Recently I wrote a bit more about Līgo on Carpe Diem Haiku challenge “Carpe Diem Haiku *Summer Solstice*” therefore today I won’t bore you with details of cultural heritage and traditions. I just want to add one thing…yes, it is a special feeling of being together with family and friends somewhere outdoors near meadows, forests, fields and with the gleam of the last embers in bonfires meet the new sunrise. Some call it magical, some – mysterious but for me it is a part of my identity, my home. And I do miss it today. A touch or maybe more…

LĪGO, EVERYONE!

7 thoughts on “Short and Simple – LĪGO!

  1. I find the European Solstice celebrations fascinating. A couple of Swedish friends have also featured similar stories.I hope your next summer is at home with family and friends Ese.

    Like

  2. I HAVE TO BE HERE! One of my closest friends who is all settled in Sweden wore this crown sort of thing in one of her pictures once. I wonder if she was in your country then ( didnt ask her about that ).

    But really. The music is so soulful. I want to hear more of it. And in all probability, in person.

    Like

Plato believed an opinion is the medium between knowledge and ignorance. Fancy to share yours?

