Carpe Diem My Favorite Haiku by … *Chiyo-Ni’s “butterfly’ s dream”*

It is not easy to choose my favourite haiku, written by one of the most known female haiku poets – Chiyo-Ni (1703-1775), but I gave it a try. Why the following one? Because with that graceful feminine touch only Chiyo-Ni has she once again brings me closer to nature. Or nature closer to me. She makes me hold my breath, to notice and treasure more than meets the eye. There’ s something so real in that moment, caught in her haiku, yet so volatile as well. You know…the feeling of almost being afraid to blink not to miss the moment when a butterfly dreams…

a dandelion
now and then interrupting
the butterfly’s dream

Here’ s what I wrote, inspired by Chiyo-Ni’ s haiku:

plum blossoms
snowflake turns into
butterfly

Carpe Diem Haiku Kai

Yangzhou_garden_penjing

11 thoughts on “Carpe Diem My Favorite Haiku by … *Chiyo-Ni’s “butterfly’ s dream”*

  1. I don’t know much, but thanks to you, am beginning to like haiku. Precise and powerful. Who knows, some time hence even I start writing some, but of course, for that I need to see more of world.

    Like

    1. Trust me – i don’t know much about haiku either but I like trying to put my thoughts in so few words, learning along the way. Almost like ancient form of tweeting or something. 🙂 I am sure you would write well, Tatsat…after seeing the world as well as during the process of discovery. Just give it a try some day!

      Liked by 1 person

Plato believed an opinion is the medium between knowledge and ignorance. Fancy to share yours?

