Līgo Haibun Challenge – Unexpectedly Expected

haibun_order

This week there are two prompts for the Līgo Haibun Challenge:
Water       or       Order.
And it came to me – maybe not so much in order at once but step by step…

It was snowing as I left early this morning. Slowly, with the plume alike snowflakes – not dancing playfully but almost certain about where they were supposed to land and going for it. A bit surreal with pitch blackness all around, smoothened by something so white and pure. A hope, a promise that there’ s always light in the end of every tunnel.

wonderland
from caresses of snowflakes
my heart melts

For better or worse, that was not about to last. I was dragged back into another reality the moment I hit the road. Away from the fluffy dream-land into the late autumn day with heavy clouds of that dirty lead grey color. Growing, impatient to burst, yet constantly pushed around by indomitable wind until it finally happened. The inevitable – raindrops crushing against the windshield one after another. Creating the mysterious patterns that were supposed to lull my thoughts again before the pace was changed. Gaining power, they seemed eager to break through the glass, angrily. If there was even a tiny chance they could, they would have. Especially after the rain had turned into the grains of hail. Like frozen teardrops one would like to hide but not knowing how and why, so they kept rolling…

An hour later on my way back home there it was – the culmination of the day. A double rainbow in the clear blue sky, the one that can make the toughest sceptics to believe in wonders. Even if only for a moment. And it crossed my mind there was something of a woman in all of this nature’ s almost desparate attempt to be noticed. Moody and capricious, craving for attention, continuing to fail but not giving up. A touch difficult, often unexpected and unexplainable, like all seasons taking their course at once, still able to surprise. In the best possible way.

After all it is the natural order of the world – sooner or later something good will follow something bad. Either we believe it or not.

one day
for winter to turn into spring
(un)natural order

Līgo Haibun Challenge

26 thoughts on “Līgo Haibun Challenge – Unexpectedly Expected

  1. Double rainbows are special. I’ve been lucky to see one in my ‘home’ town.
    Be safe driving in the messy chaos of autumn. 🙂

    Remember to post your link in the linky thing.

    Posting my haibun shortly. Cheers. ~Jules

    Like

      1. Thank you very much, Jules – it really came as a wonder and was appreciated! 🙂
        Driving is a touch tricky as we are sliding from autumn into winter here and it hardly happens without the presence of “the black ice”. I am trying my best.
        PS: Linky thing all done 🙂

        Like

        1. Black ice is very tricky. But so is just regular ice. I was going up a ramp (many years ago) and lost control and ended up with the front of the care smashed into the concrete road divider. The car was totaled, I was OK.
          Autumn into winter here too. 🙂

          Like

    1. Thank you, Suzanne – I really tried to express the impression the weather left on me yesterday as well as the thoughts it brought along. I am waiting for more snow – that is supposed to cover everything, even the awful weather in a way. 🙂

      Like

  2. Pingback: Ligo Haibun Challenge- Word Prompt | paul scribbles

Plato believed an opinion is the medium between knowledge and ignorance. Fancy to share yours?