And Everything Will Stop…

melting

Now and then I have shared on my blog poems that have caught my eye (heart and soul), and this is one of those moments once again. “Monologue (Requiem)” is a poem by Marina Ivanovna Tsvetaeva  – one of the greatest Russian poets of the 20th century. Must admit I haven’ t read anyhing so raw for quite some time…

Oh, how many of them
have already fallen into the abyss,
waiting open wide ahead!
The day will come when I will disappear
From the surface of the earth.
And everything will stop-
the singing and always fighting back,
and shining, while tearing myself apart.
The verdure of my eyes and gentle voice,
As well as all the gold strands in my hair.
And life with bite of daily bread,
Will seem to have forgetfulness of the day.
And suddenly it will feel like
There was everything under the sky,
With only one exception – me.
So volatile, like children, in every expression,
And never staying evil for too long.
The one who loved the wee hours,
With all the wood in the fireplace
Turning into ashes,
Violoncello, the often cavalcades
And the tolling village bell…
It’ s me – still so alive and also real
On this very tender land!
Me, never knowing any limits
– nor mine, nor the ones of everybody else,
I turn to you, demanding faith
As well as with my little request of love.
Through days and nights
In whispers and in scribbles on paper:
For truth, my yes and also no,
For the moments of my often sadness
Of this still too early age.
For my constant inevitability
To forgive the old offences,
For all of my rampant tenderness
And always looking a little too proud,
For my need of rushing events,
For all the truth and the game…
Just listen, and don’ t forget to love me
Also for the fact that
Some day I will die.

PS: Not less powerful when turned into a song:

2 thoughts on “And Everything Will Stop…

Plato believed an opinion is the medium between knowledge and ignorance. Fancy to share yours?